Our All Black Team of 2008

About this time of the year I pick my preferred All Black team on the basis of performance in the Super 14. I usually stick my list on the fridge where everyone can see it and have a good laugh. “You picked him?!”

I like to take a few risks which is why Anthony Tuitavake is on my team this year. If you haven’t seen him play, think of what you’d get if you crossed Christian Cullen with Ma’a Nonu. (And no, I don’t mean an injury-prone, out-of-control prima donna.) Tuitavake has great pace and the ability to get defenders going in two directions. He’s a bit of a nimbler version of Isaia Toeava. (Note: Last year I picked Isaia Toeava who had a fantastic Super 14 season but then wilted on the international stage.)

I don’t necessarily pick the best player for each spot, but the best for the larger combinations that exist in my head. If you don’t like my choices, feel free to send in your own choice. Just hit the “Leave a reply” button below.

15. Mils Muliaina (reserve: Leon McDonald)

14. Sitiveni Sivivatu (Lelia Masaga)

13. Anthony Tuitavake (Sean Maitland)

12. Stephen Brett (Conrad Smith)

11. Josevata Rokocoko (David Smith)

10. Dan Carter (Stephen Donald)

9. Brendon Leonard (Andy Ellis)

8. Rodney So’oialo (Mose Tuiali’i)

7. Richie McCaw (Chris Masoe)

6. Jerry Collins (Kieran Read)

5. Ali Williams (Ross Filipo)

4. Jason Eaton (Brad Thorn)

3. Greg Somerville (?)

2. Andrew Hore (Keven Mealamu)

1. Tony Woodcock (John Afoa)

Notable omissions:

  • Isaia Toeava – long on potential, short on BMT
  • Neemia Tialata – too slow and a bit over-rated
  • Piri Weepu – I love Weepu, but he’s too inconsistent for the test stage
  • Nic Evans – he’s good, but Stephen Donald is a match-winner and deserves a chance
  • Ma’a Nonu – he’s a great tackle-breaker, but he takes too much on himself; he doesn’t work well with others
  • Casey Laulala – he just hasn’t been as brilliant as he was last year
  • anybody from the Highlanders – I was actually thinking of Jimmy Cowan until a week ago

This dream team consists of 5 Crusaders players, 4 Hurricances, 3 Blues and 3 Chiefs.

One Response

  1. 1.Simms Davidson (Tony Woodcock)
    2.Andrew Hore
    3.Ben May
    4.Brad Thorn
    5.Ali Williams
    6.Liam Messam
    7.Richie Maccaw
    8.Sioni Lauaki
    9.Brendon Leonard
    10. Dan Carter
    11.Sitivini Sivivatu
    12.Conrad Smith
    13.Richard Kahui
    14.Anthony Tuitakave
    15.Mills Muiliena

    19.So’ilio
    20.Jimmy Cowan
    21Donald
    22.David Smith

Leave a comment